Montag, 8. Juli 2019

Veeam Error – Changed Block Tracking Will Not Be Used For This VM Until You Upgrade the VM Hardware to Version 8.0 or Later on Server 2016

f you have recently upgraded your HyperV Servers or Cluster to Server 2016 and you are running Veeam, you may see the following error:
Changed Block Tracking Will Not Be Used For This VM Until You Upgrade the VM Hardware to Version 8.0 or Later
What this means is that Veeam will only perform FULL backups and not incrementals which is a bit of a crisis for most companies.
Fortunately this is easy to fix, you simply need to upgrade the “Virtual Machine Version” (not to be confused with the Cluster Version, if you are using a Cluster):
  1. On each of your HyperV hosts, shut down all of the VM’s
    .
  2. Run the following PowerShell Command:
    Update-VMVersion *
    .
  3. Run the following PowerShell Command to ensure that all VM’s are at “8”
    Get-VM * | Format-Table Name, Version
    .
Once all of your VM’s are at version 8, you can restart your Veeam backup jobs and all will be well.
For more information on this process read this Microsoft doc.

Montag, 25. Februar 2019

Windows 10: 450-MB-Wiederherstellungspartition sichtbar - so blenden Sie sie aus

Nach dem Windows 10 Update kann es sein, dass der Windows Explorer die Wiederherstellungspartition mit 450 MB anzeigt.
So blenden Sie sie wieder aus!


Wiederherstellungspartition ausblenden mit Diskpart

Diskpart steuern Sie mit Kommandobefehlen ohne grafische Oberfläche. Zu Beginn lassen wir uns anzeigen, welche Laufwerke und Partitionen auf dem System aktiv sind. Das funktioniert mit dem Befehl „list volume“. In der Spalte „###“ suchen Sie nun die Nummer für die Partition, die Sie nicht mehr sehen sollen.

Wir wählen diese anschließend mit dem Befehl „select volume X“ aus. X steht dabei für die Zahl, die Sie der vorherigen Liste entnommen haben. Ist die richtige Partition ausgewählt, fehlt nur noch der folgende Befehl, um die Verknüpfung mit einem Laufwerksbuchstaben und somit die Anzeige auf dem Arbeitsplatz auszublenden: „remove letter=Y“. Für „Y“ wählen Sie den Buchstaben aus, den Windows der Wiederherstellungspartition erteilt hat. Ist der Befehl bestätigt, ist auf Ihrem Rechner wieder alles wie vorher.

Montag, 7. Januar 2019

User Profile Service Event 1534

Finally found a FIX for 1534 error !

1. Open Regedit and navigate to the following two keys
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileNotification
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileNotification
2. Under ProfileNotification check if you have the TDL key
3. Export the TDL key at each location
4. Delete the TDL key at each location
5. Reboot PC to verify

Note:
You'll need take ownership of the TDL Key to be able to delete it.

Right-click on the key, select Permissions.
In the permissions for.. dialog, click the Advanced button, then click the "Change" link in the Advanced Security Settings dialog.
Enter your domain\username in the edit box, click Check names and ensure it finds your name
Click OK
You should be able to delete the key at that point. If it doesn't want to, try deleting each item in the key, then the key itself.

Veeam Error – Changed Block Tracking Will Not Be Used For This VM Until You Upgrade the VM Hardware to Version 8.0 or Later on Server 2016

f you have recently upgraded your HyperV Servers or Cluster to Server 2016 and you are running Veeam, you may see the following error: Ch...